Huguenot Lodge History
Huguenot Lodge, No. 381 was instituted on May 19, 1855 with E. W. Hubbard as the first Master; and incidently, the second, third and fourth, also. The first meeting place was in the Odd Fellows Hall, on Amboy Road. In 1859, the Lodge moved to the Chapel of St. Paul's Methodist Church, which it occupied until 1883, when rooms were procured over Fisher's Drug Store at Main Street and Arthuir Kill Road.Tthe last place of meeting, prior to the erection of a Temple, was in Knights Pythias Hall. The corner-stone of the present Temple on Main Street, Tottenville, was laid on June 12, 1909.
E. W. Hubbard, the first Master, served for four years. This was nothing compared to the record created by his son, George C. Hubbard, who was raised in King Solomon's Lodge, and affiliated with Huguenot Lodge in 1857. He was Master of Huguenot Lodge in 1860, and again in 1867 through 1870, then again in 1888 through 1890 and finally 1893. He was District Deputy Grand Master on three different occasions, 1867-1868; 1870-1871, and then, nineteen years later, in 1889-1890. In 1894, he affiliated with Tompkins Lodge No. 471.